School front gates.jpg


Key Stage 3


In years 8 – 10 pupils follow a general science course which includes elements from all four Science Attainment  targets.  Assessment is by means of unit tests and end of year exams.

Key Stage 4


In years 11 and 12 pupils will study CCEA GCSE Single Award Science. This incorporates the skills, knowledge and understanding of how science works. The specification is divided into four units:

  • Units 1, 2, and 3 are each assessed by a written examination.

  • Unit 4 is a controlled assessment task completed in school.

  • Students can resit each unit once.

  • Each unit comprises 25% of the final mark.

Students achieving a GCSE in Single Award Science can then progress to science related further education courses, training or employment.


Mr Anderson (Head of Department)      

Mr McKee

Mrs Dalzell (Technician)


Year 8, Year 9, Year 10, Year 11, Year 12
10 Homeworks in each term


Test Revision

Completion (or extension)